Goff Voltin, PLLC
Call Today (757) 847-5244

Criminal Law Archives

POSSESSION OF MARIJUANA IS ILLEGAL IN VIRGINIA

POSSESSION OF MARIJUANA

Possession of marijuana is one of the most commonly charged offenses in Virginia.  While several states have recently decriminalized the possession of small amounts of marijuana, possession of marijuana in Virginia is still a misdemeanor punishable by a jail time, a fine, and a six month loss of driver's license.

COLLEGE STUDENTS AND ALCOHOL-RELATED CRIMES

Let's face it, alcohol is an ever-present factor for many young adults on collegeTailgate-copy-300x200.jpgcampuses.  College students often attend tailgates, parties, bars, and many other social functions where there is almost always a presence of alcohol.  So what happens when the night takes an unfortunate turn and your son, daughter, or other loved one ends up facing an alcohol-related criminal charge?

CHARGED WITH DESTRUCTION OF PROPERTY? WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW!

Depending on the value of the alleged damage, a conviction for Destruction ofvandalism.jpgProperty will either be for a Class 1 misdemeanor (punishable by up to twelve months in jail and a $2,500 fine) or a Class 6 felony (punishable by up to five years in prison and a $2,500 fine).  If the alleged damage is less than $1,000, the charge will be a misdemeanor.  If the damage is $1,000 or greater, you will be charged with the more serious felony.

DISORDERLY CONDUCT

What is Disorderly Conduct?handcuffs-768x512_01.jpg

Disorderly conduct is prohibited by Section 18.2-415 of the Code of Virginia.  People generally associate a Disorderly Conduct charge with drinking alcohol or appearing drunk in public, but this does not always have to be the case.  In Newport News, Williamsburg, Hampton, York County, and other jurisdictions within the Commonwealth of Virginia, a person could find themselves charged with disorderly conduct when he or she:

UNDERAGE POSSESSION OF ALCOHOL

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Except for a few limited situations, the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act makes it unlawful for an individual under the age of 21 to purchase, consume, or possess alcohol.  Each weekend many young adults living in the Newport News, Williamsburg, Hampton, York County, and Norfolk areas find themselves facing a dreaded underage alcohol possession summons.

ASSAULT AND BATTERY OF A FAMILY MEMBER

Charged with Assault and Battery of a Family Member?

The charge of assault and battery of a family or household member usually stems from a series of unfortunate events.  The attorneys of Goff Voltin, PLLC are extremely familiar with the unusual circumstances that lead to a charge of assault and battery and are willing to learn more about your situation.

RECKLESS DRIVING ATTORNEYS FOR HAMPTON, NEWPORT NEWS, YORK COUNTY, AND WILLIAMSBURG

Interstate 64 (I-64) from Hampton and Newport News to Yorktown and up through Williamsburg and James City County is a hot bed for Reckless Driving and Speeding tickets.  The Virginia State Police, Hampton Police, Newport News Police, York County Sheriff's Department, and Williamsburg and James City County Police patrol I-64 and its feeder highways (ex: 199 in Williamsburg) looking for drivers who exceed the posted speed limit.  Anyone familiar with the area knows the troopers and officers have their secret hiding spots up and down the roadways, but what happens if you find yourself facing a Reckless Driving charge or Speeding ticket?

BOND HEARINGS

One of the most important concerns encountered by people who have been arrested is ensuring that they remain out on bond or have a bond hearing prior to trial. The Eighth Amendment of the United States Constitution guarantees that "excessive bail shall not be required." This means you should either be granted a bond by a magistrate or be able to schedule a bond hearing immediately. While the right to remain free pending trial is constitutionally based, in practice the procedures governing bond in Virginia have been set by the General Assembly. Va. Code Sec. 19.2-120 states generally that a person should be admitted to bail, though goes on to list a number of exceptions to this rule. 

Goff Voltin, PLLC | 739 Thimble Shoals Blvd., Suite 1004 | Newport News, VA 23606 | Phone: 757-847-5244 | Map & Directions